top of page

Book trailer adventures, pt. 5, learning new skills

Ok, so I shall ignore the two months of predicaments, procrastination, and creative blocks that I’d like to blame for the delay in the blog update. The creative process is a twisted, painful, headache-inducing thrill ride at times. For the past several weeks, I’ve ran my book trailer’s raw footage and initial cut through my head, so much so, I couldn’t see it clearly. And, when editing, that becomes a problem. I needed fresh eyes and I needed to find my edge. So…yesterday I took some time to learn some new editing tools and tossed aside the worries of “what if” and sat down and played. I did of course save the originally designed book trailer clip in other locations. As I’ve mentioned, my goal for these blog posts are to explain, illustrate, and teach others who are embarking on similar ventures in hopes my sharing may help others and vice versa. I am relying on my photography skills and my past experience as a publications designer to push the process forward–skills which are invaluable. I also have a very talented video editor working with me. If you don’t have the computer/design/photography skills, don’t let that keep you from creating. As an author you are an artist and you know what you like. Seek out college or high school art students who need to build a portfolio and let their creativity fuel your designs. What I have posted is a very raw cut of several ideas I played with yesterday in ramping up the edge of the upcoming book trailer by trying a few new things. Everything is raw because well, I was learning some new techniques and I am not ready to launch the final product. The video clip I’ve posted was created entirely on my iPhone 6c with iMovie. My novel Redwood is set to launch October 5. My goal for the book trailer is early September. As always, I enjoy your feedback and I hope a glimpse behind the scenes at the messy steps one takes in creating a polished product is helpful.

I've posted the video on it's own separate page for a variety of reasons, I shall explain later.

Book trailer raw video sample Technical info: iphone 6c, iMovie, Canon Rebel XT with HD video

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page