top of page

Book trailer adventures pt. 2

I am pleased to report our initial filming and photography for the book trailer was successful. I was very happy as we traveled to our set location, Philip Carter Winery in Hume, Virginia, that the sun had faded behind low hanging clouds and soft-light casting fog. I was blessed to have two wonderful models, for whom without their participation, the project could not proceed. The weather was probably my biggest concern going into this project. I’m an accomplished photographer and while not preferable, I knew I could digitally alter my images to adjust for the harsh light of the sun. Redwood is a fantasy, paranormal novel, therefore the mystery that fog naturally lends to a photo will lessen the digital alterations of my images. I was truly blessed this day as the fog didn’t lift until after we had finished filming. As you can see from the group shot and one of the earlier shots, the sunlight was harsh and bright and wouldn’t have helped deliver the illusion of a haunted soul walking the ruins of her vineyard. I am currently working on editing the video and still shots. I am scanning the shots and video for elements such as: the angle of my model’s ankles, the swish of her skirt as she spun around the vines, the flow of her hair, the dirt smudges on her boots and hemline, the angle of her back, the dirt falling through my male model’s hands, etc. I am a bit obsessive when it comes to the photographic details and I’ll continue to update you and share the editing process as I proceed. I will deliver the video to my video editor and then we will sit down together and pull the best of the best together. As I mentioned in an earlier tweet, I think one of my filming mistakes may be the best shot. Again, this is a learning experience. As I proceed with this project, my biggest piece of advice is to not be afraid to make mistakes. I am relying on my background in design and photography which is making the project easier than if I had no skill set to aid me. However, I also remain consciously aware that design and art and well, writing, is all subjective to individual tastes. I remain solidly committed to producing a book trailer that will pull the viewer in and place Redwood firmly in their imagination. Next up…music recording and continued editing…


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page